Golf Academy Hawaii 
Level III Rules Test
Name:________________________________________________Date: ________________
You will need to have access to a golf rule book.  This link: Rules of Golf  is helpful and having a copy of the rules in your golf bag is also a good idea as your golf game becomes competitive

1.  A player stepped on a ball mark in the act of repairing it and incidentally pressed down a spike mark on his line of putt. Did the player incur a penalty under Rule 16-1a?

Answer:______________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________

2. A ball played from off the green was about a foot from the hole and still in motion when it was moved by a dog to a spot about 10 feet from the hole. The ball was either deflected by the dog or the dog picked it up, ran with it and dropped it. What is the ruling?  (Rule 19)

Answer:______________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________________
3. A player hits his ball into an area where it may be lost outside a water hazard or out of bounds. The player then drops another ball and plays it. The player intends the dropped ball to be a provisional ball, but he does not inform his opponent, marker or fellow-competitor that he is "playing a provisional ball." In such a situation, can a player's actions constitute announcement that he is playing a provisional ball? (Rule 27-2)

Answer:______________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________

4. The following are examples of statements that do or do not satisfy the requirement of announcing a provisional ball: 

(a) "That might be lost. I am going to re-load." 

(b) "That might be out of here." 

(c) "I'd better hit another one." 

(d) "I will never find that one. I'll play another." 

Answer:______________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________

5. A player, believing his tee shot might be lost or on a road defined as out of bounds, played a provisional ball. He searched for his original ball but did not find it. He went forward and played his provisional ball. Then he went further forward and found his original ball in bounds. The original ball must have bounced down the road and then come back into bounds, because it was found much farther from the tee than anticipated. Was the original ball still the ball in play? (Rule 27-2)

Answer:______________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________

6. In stroke play, A played from outside the teeing ground and his ball came to rest out of bounds. He played another ball from within the teeing ground. Is he penalized stroke and distance under Rule 27-1, as well as two strokes under Rule 11-4b?

Answer:______________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________

7. A player, believing his tee shot might be lost or on a road defined as out of bounds, played a provisional ball. He searched for his original ball but did not find it. He went forward and played his provisional ball. Then he went further forward and found his original ball in bounds. The original ball must have bounced down the road and then come back into bounds, because it was found much farther from the tee than anticipated. Was the original ball still the ball in play? (Rule 27-2)

Answer:______________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________

8. Prior to putting, a player touched the inside of the hole. Should he be considered to have touched his line of putt in breach of Rule 16-1a?  (Rule 16-1)

Answer:______________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________

9. A lifts his ball on the putting green. He then accidentally drops the ball and it strikes and moves B's ball, which is in play and at rest. What is the ruling?  (Rule 18-3)

Answer:______________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________

10. A player plays what he believes to be his ball and hits it out of bounds. He plays another ball under Rule 27-1 and then discovers that the ball he hit out of bounds was a wrong ball and that his original ball is lying in bounds. What is the ruling?  (Rule 27-1 / 15-3)

Answer:______________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________

